Admin

Math Department




 
Mathematics Department Mission  

The educational mission for the Department of Mathematics is to provide the students with the fundamental knowledge needed to function effectively in high school, college, and real-world settings. This includes:

*addressing the needs of each student;
* presenting thought-provoking, challenging and engaging lessons;
* assisting students with integration of math skills in other disciplines and real-world experiences.

The AMS Mathematics Team

7th Grade Teachers

  • Mr. Kyrin Banks: kjbanks@aldineisd.org 
  • Mr. Charles Carter: ccarter@aldineisd.org 
  • Ms. Yvonne Ealy: ymealy@aldineisd.org
  • Mr. Brian Harrington: bjharrington@aldineisd.org
  • Mrs. Nicole Smothers: nmsmothers@aldineisd.org


8th Grade Teachers

  • Mr. Cris Garner: clgarner@aldineisd.org
  • Mr. Craig Kichty: cskichty@aldineisd.org
  • Mrs. Gloria Medel: glmedel@aldineisd.org
  • Mrs. Sheterra Smith-Bihms: sqsmith@aldineisd.org 
  • Mrs. Claudia Sylvester: cksylvester@aldineisd.org


Math Intervention (7th & 8th Grade)

  • Ms. Karen Spooner: kbspooner@aldineisd.org


Resource Math (7th & 8th Grade)

  • Mrs. Felecia Davis: fldavis@aldineisd.org


Math Skills Specialist

  • Ms. Robin Sweet: rrsweet@aldineisd.org


Administrator

  • Mrs. Cynthia Harrison: cdharrison@aldineisd.org


Feel free to contact your child's teacher via email or by the school phone at 281-985-6580!


What We're Learning This Year  

7th Grade 1st Nine Weeks



Unit 1: Compare, Add, Subtract, Mult
iply & Divide Rational Numbers

  • Visual Representations of Rational Number Relationships
  • Add, Subtract, Multiply & Divide Positive & Negative Rational Numbers

Unit 2: Personal Financial Literacy

  • Financial Assets, Liabilities, & Constructing a Net Worth Statement
  • Using a Family Budget Estimator for Basic Needs
  • Calculating Sales Tax & Income Tax
  • Analyze & Compare Monetary Incentives
  • Simple Interest & Compound Interest
  • Identify & Calculate Components of a Personal Budget

Unit 3: Solving Rates, Ratios & Percents

  • Calculate Unit Rates from Rates
  • Convert Between Measurement Systems
  • Solve Problems Involving Rates, Ratios, Proportions, & Percent

 

8th Grade 1st Nine Weeks

Unit 1: Real Number Relationships

  • Visual Representations of Real Number Relationships
  • Approximating the Value of Irrational Numbers
  • Scientific Notation
  • Order Real Numbers

Unit 2: Equations & Inequalities

  • Write Equations & Inequalities from Situations
  • Write Real World Situations from Equations & Inequalities
  • Model & Solve Equations

Unit 3: Angle Relationships

  • Facts About Angle Sums & Exterior Angle of Triangles
  • Parallel Lines Cut by a Transversal
  • Angle-Angle Criterion for Similarity of Triangles

Unit 4: Pythagorean Theorem

  • Models & Diagrams
  • Use Pythagorean Theorem & its Converse to Solve Problems
  • Distance on a Coordinate Plane